Ant-man: Easter Eggs [Spoiler-free]


Originally, I figured I’d watch the Fantastic Four movie this weekend, having already caught Ant-man opening weekend. After months of negative press, the last couple of trailers didn’t look that bad. I thought I would give it a shot.

After the early reviews completely panned it and audience reactions declined each day, I figured my hard-earned money was better spent on something I knew I would enjoy, so…

I decided to see Ant-man for the second time and it was even better! Sure, it’s not perfect, but it’s a lot of fun.

The first time around, even though I enjoyed every minute of it, I couldn’t shake the fear that something was going to mess it up. This little bit of anxiety created this tension that kept me from being fully immersed.

This time around, I already knew it was going to be great, so I just kicked back, relaxed and took it all in. What a ride! Anticipating each joke, each rising action made them even better.

I know, I know, I just did an Ant-man review. Is it really too early for another? Well, this one will cover Easter Eggs and we’ve tried to make them as spoiler-free as possible.

With Phase 2 closing on this movie, Marvel has done a good job with linking the movies while keeping them independent. Guardians, Winter Soldier or Ant-man can be watched without viewing the other movies. Given that, for the fans that know their comic history, there’s a lot of nice touches in these movies that continue to build on the shared universe.

 

ant_man-tales_to_astonish
Tales to Astonish #27 (January 1962) art by Jack Kirby and Dick Ayers.

Tales to Astonish

Referring to the rumors over the years about a mighty mite covert super agent working for the government decades ago, Darren Cross exclaims “Tales to Astonish” to great effect. I loved the line!

Hank Pym first debuted in Tales to Astonish #27 in 1962. Tales to Astonish was a sci-fi/monster anthology title that usually had 4 stories each 5 pages long. In #27, scientist Hank Pym discovers a shrinking formula that soon puts him at the mercy of a colony of ants.

A few months later, Ant-man debuted in Tales to Astonish #35 as the lead feature until Tales to Astonish #70 when Namor the Sub-mariner replaced him. Issue #44 debuted the Wasp. With #49, Ant-man became Giant-man and could grow larger or smaller.

Ant-man vs the Communistas

Filmed footage of original Ant-man battling communist forces also harkens back to the Tales to Astonish days. I did a review of Ant-man/Giant-man Masterworks volume 1 that had these early stories in it. Marvel heroes in the 60s were often pitted against communist forces of one stripe or another.

Milgrom Hotel

Luis has a room at the Milgrom Hotel. Al Milgrom was a long-time Marvel artist, writer and editor. Even though he never penned Ant-man’s solo adventures, he did have a long run on West Coast Avengers with Hank Pym on the roster.

 

Stature

 

 

Cassie

Cassie Lang

In comics, when Scott’s daughter is older, she shares the ability to change size and takes on the identity of Stature.

Scarlet-Witch-destruction

Who’s to Blame for Sokovia?

A newspaper headline that Scott briefly lands on links this movie to the rest of the the MCU. Sokovia is the homeland of Scarlet Witch and Quicksilver in Avengers: Age of Ultron. There is also a reference to the Avengers being “too busy dropping cities from the sky” to offer any help.

Accords

The Accords mentioned that may prevent other heroes from helping likely point to precursors to the Hero Registration Act for Captain America: Civil War.

Stan Lee Cameo

In my opinion, this is the best one yet. It surprised me when it came up, so it’s tough to add more description without violating the spoiler-free notice in the title.

 

 

 

Aaand… we won’t even talk about the potential easter egg that Ant-man in a shower brings to mind…

ant-man-shower

Seriously, it’s one of the weirder moments in comics, and there’s been a lot of them.

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Ant-man: Easter Eggs [Spoiler-free]

  1. I would like to thank you for the efforts yo21v8u&7;#e put in writing this blog. I really hope to check out the same high-grade blog posts by you in the future as well. In fact, your creative writing abilities has inspired me to get my own, personal blog now

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

